Faculty of Law Launches 10th Anniversary Celebrations

…and presents inaugural Eric Frater Memorial Scholarship

President, Professor Stephen Vasciannie, CD (2nd right) and University Registrar, Mrs. Mercedes Deane (2nd left) pose with current and former Deans of the Faculty of Law following the launch of the Faculty of Law’s 10th Anniversary Celebrations and launch of the inaugural Eric Frater Memorial Scholarship held on February 14, 2019 at LT50, Shared Facilities Building, Papine Campus.  

The Faculty of Law, University of Technology, Jamaica is this year marking the 10th Anniversary of its establishment at the University.  The milestone is being marked with a number of activities throughout the year under the theme,   “10 Years…Reshaping the Legal Paradigm.”  The Faculty hosted an official launch of the anniversary celebrations on Thursday, February 14, 2019 at the Papine Campus.  The occasion also saw the presentation of the inaugural Eric Frater Memorial Scholarship to two outstanding final year students of the Faculty of Law.

Dr. Prathiba Mahanamahewa, Dean, Faculty of Law in his welcome outlined some of the celebratory activities planned and new initiatives being pursued by the Faculty.  Among them, the introduction of  new short courses in the areas of  Labour, Information Communication Technologies (ICT), Aviation and Admiralty Law; community legal aid services, research publications, a newsletter and a National ICT Law Conference.

Congratulating the Faculty of Law on its significant milestone, University President Professor Stephen Vasciannie, acknowledged the many individuals who have contributed to the growth and development of the Faculty. 

He specially thanked former President Professor the Hon. Errol Morrison, OJ, the visionary behind the establishment of a Law Faculty at the University; founding Dean, Professor Kent Pantry, QC (2008-2010) and former Deans, Professor the Hon. Oswald Harding, OJ (2011-2013), Mr Alfred McPherson (2014-2017) and former Acting Dean, Mrs Marcia Robinson (January – October 2018).

In noting that the Faculty of Law was established in September 2008 to “provide the opportunity for learners of all backgrounds who are interested in the practice of law, to earn a law degree and to develop their interest in the law and the legal system of Jamaica and the CARICOM,” the President affirmed that “the progress on this mandate has been strong, notwithstanding the challenges along the way.” 

The President said that “the future of law education at the University continues to look bright,” under the leadership of Dean Mahanamahewa who he noted has brought his “enthusiasm, imagination and considerable experience in law and leadership, to continue the forward march of excellence.”

On the protracted question of the establishment of a law school at the University, Professor Vasciannie told the gathering that the efforts continue towards a target start-up date of September 2019.   He noted that the working group which was appointed by the Government in December 2017 has since established a subcommittee of Parliament to advance the matter of the establishment of the law school at UTech, Jamaica.  

He noted that in the course of the last decade, only about 200 or 30 per cent  of  the 500 UTech, Jamaica LLB graduates have  been granted access to the Norman Manley Law School to complete studies to obtain  their practicing legal certificate.

Remarks were received from all the former Deans of the Faculty of Law who all expressed pride in the growth and development of the faculty. The Deans expressed gratitude to members of academic and administrative staff who have been integral on the journey.  The former Deans specially thanked Mrs Karen Rhule, Faculty Administrator and Mrs Elaine Codner, Executive Assistant who have been part of the team since inception.  Mrs Dawn McNeil, former Associate Dean, Faculty of Law was recognized for her pioneering work in establishing the law programme at the UTech, Jamaica Western Campus.


Professor Kent Pantry, QC, Founding Dean, Faculty of Law delivers remarks.

Eric Frater Memorial Scholarship

Mrs. Eleanor Jones

UTech, Jamaica Council Member and Chair, Eric Frater Memorial Scholarship Selection Committee, Mrs Eleanor Jones gave a synopsis of the selection process for the inaugural Eric Frater Memorial Scholarship. 

Mr Frater who died in 2014 was one of the longest serving members of the University’s Council.  He was conferred with an honorary degree by the University in the same year, in recognition of his distinguished service as a Jurist, educator and higher education administrator. 

The scholarship valued at $900,000, is awarded once every three years to a second to fourth year student enrolled in the LLB course of study in the Faculty of Law who has achieved a minimum GPA of 3.0, among other criteria.  Mrs Jones noted that the decision was taken this year to award the scholarship to two students who exemplified the values and character of Eric Frater.

The 2019 Eric Frater Memorial scholarship was awarded to final year students Danmar Clarke and Denelia Alvarnga.  Ms Alvarnaga thanked the University for its generosity and support, noting that “the scholarship will help us to focus on our education and will bring us one step closer to our goal of becoming successful civil and criminal litigation attorneys.”

The Vote of Thanks was moved by articulate law student Annay Wheatle who is also one of the UTech, Jamaica 60th Anniversary scholarship awardee.

The launch ceremony was ably steered by Master of Ceremonies Mrs Alicia Dixon Stone, Programme Director, Faculty of Law and chairman of the Faculty of Law’s 10th Anniversary celebrations.

Professor Stephen Vasciannie (left), presents the Eric Frater Memorial Scholarship to Danmar Clarke and Denelia Alvaranga, fourth year, Faculty of Law students.


Michelle Beckford (Mrs.)
Corporate Communications Manager
University of Technology, Jamaica
Telephone: 970-5299
Email: mbeckford@utech.edu.jm