About the School

History of the Caribbean School of Nursing, UTech, Ja.
The Caribbean School of Nursing UTech (CSON) came into existence after separating from the School of Allied Health and Nursing (SAHN) in January 2012. CSON is one of the Schools within the College of Health Sciences.

How nursing education started at UTech, Ja.
On August 27, 2007 the Ministry of Health (MOH), Jamaica transferred its responsibility for nursing and midwifery training to the University of Technology, Jamaica (UTech). UTech, Ja. began the transfer process firstly with the general nursing course of study. Since 1898 the MOH had been training nurses and midwives through institutions such as Victoria Jubilee Lying-In-Hospital, Kingston Public Hospital Teaching Department, Kingston School of Nursing and its affiliates Cornwall School of Nursing, Bellevue Hospital School of Nursing, Victoria Jubilee Hospital and Spanish Town School of Midwifery. CSON is the beneficiary of a rich nursing and midwifery heritage and is committed to advance this trend to another phase of development. To begin this process and to be in tandem with global trends and the mandate of the Regional Nursing Body (RNB) CSON introduced its first cohort with the 4 year Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) in 2007, graduating that class in 2011. The movement from MOH to CSON enabled the transformation of nursing preparation from standalone training to education with training in a multidisciplinary educational institution enabling a more rounded professional citizen.

CSON is located in Kingston and Montego Bay. In Kingston it is located on the Main Campus Papine and Montego Bay Campus. The addresses for the Campuses are:
The Main Campus - Papine
237 Old Hope Rd
Kingston 6
Fax #: (876) 927-1699

The Montego Bay Campus,
Barnett Clinic, Cottage Close
Montego Bay, St James.
Fax #: 940-4259

To bridge the qualification for practicing registered nurses previously trained at the certificate level CSON introduced the Bachelor of Science completion (BSN-Completion) degree, first offering it at the Montego Bay Campus. The degree is also being franchised to St. Vincent and the Grenadines Community College

Faculty members
There is a strong and committed academic team of lecturers with a variety of nursing speciality and research interests. The faculty has a number of publications including a nursing text Trailblazers in Nursing Education: A Caribbean Perspective that is widely circulated. Students are the focal point of CSON, UTech Ja. For students to receive the best possible learning outcomes they are socialised and preceptored into the profession through modeling by a team of highly educated professional nurses and midwives.